Hidden in Plain Sight

 

Check Out This Interactive Virtual Teen Bedroom

 

Hidden in Plain Sight allows parents a unique interactive opportunity to look into a teen's mock bedroom. The room is full of common household items that could be used to hide or disguise drug, alcohol, tobacco use or other "risky" behaviors. Usually we set this up in the school during Open Houses, but during COVID we have created a virtual version that you can do at home!

Simply click on the picture of the bedroom below to explore this educational tool. Move your mouse around the room to "find" the items hidden in the room.

Please take the time to talk to your teen about the items you see - use this as a way to launch a conversation about substance use among peers. 

As parents, we are the number one tool against substance use!

Please take 2 minutes to share your experience with us for the Virtual Hidden in Plain Sight (HIPS) teenager's mock bedroom

 

Parent Resources:

Substance Use

National Institute on Drug Abuse: https://www.drugabuse.gov

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism: https://www.niaaa.nih.gov

National Institute on Drug Abuse for Teens: https://teens.drugabuse.gov/parents

Partnership for Drug-Free Kids: https://drugfree.org

Power to the Parent: http://powertotheparent.org

Parent Action on Drugs (PAD): https://parentactionondrugs.org

Get Smart About Drugs: https://www.getsmartaboutdrugs.gov

Addiction Resource: https://addictionresource.com/parents-and-educators/

Lifespan Substance Use Disorders Treatment: https://www.lifespan.org/centers-services/substance-use-disorders-treatment/ourservices

The Providence Center: https://providencecenter.org/services/child-and-family/adolescent-teen-programs

Clinical Services of Rhode Island: https://clinicalservicesri.com/support-groups/

Mental Health

Dept. of Behavioral Healthcare, Developmental Disabilities and Hospitals (BHDDH) Mental Health Services: http://www.bhddh.ri.gov/mh/index.php

Campaign to Change Direction: https://www.changedirection.org

Kids Link RI: https://www.lifespan.org/centers-services/kids-link-ri

Bradley Hospital: https://www.lifespan.org/centers-services/access-center-bradley-hospital

Additional resources here